January 1, 2012

  • a New Year

    2012 is here.  Hard to believe that it is here, but I probably say that every new year.  but this year there is a different perspective. 
    I went to the Abbey of the Genesee last week for three days.  I am not Catholic, raised high Episcopalian, now a Baptist.  There is something in the rhythm of the day there, the ritual of worship, the contemplative prayer, the singing of Psalms.  to take the time – 5 times a day to stop, to pray, to consider life and continually say thank you to the Lord.
    Despite grad school, work, family life, children, the choices of others ~ this year I am going to try to stop, in every second of every moment to remember who He is and who I am in Him.  to always know that I am nothing without Christ and He cares for me, loves me, longs for my companionship like no earthly human being does. 2011 has been very difficult but I know He is teaching me, drawing me closer in ways that will help me seek Him out for strength and wisdom and love.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *