Month: July 2012

  • thoughts and human trafficking

    So… these were my Mother’s day flowers from @sarahtheworldtraveler, her fiance Andrew, Emmah and Jed.  I loved them!!  Just thinking about life and kids and how it goes so very fast. 
    Sam is off on his bike trip for human trafficking.  His blog is here.  They are riding from Cincinnati to Washington DC to raise awareness and raise money for the International Justice Mission. We do not realize the scope of the sex slave trade.  Here in Ohio Toledo is the city to get traded in.  Scary.  The girls and I are  hopeful to see them ride into DC across the Arlington Memorial bridge!!  I just hope he survives the mountains.  If you think of it, pray for him and the other 24 riders.  Sam has two guys from youth group riding with him this year.  One just graduated from high school and the other will be a junior in high school next year.  So glad they were moved to help raise awareness.
    The summer has flown, school begins in 5.5 weeks.  I can’t believe it.  I am off seeing new Junior students on home visits.  Always interesting to ‘see’ the home they live in and their support system they have or don’t have.  Reminds me of my days in hospice – I never knew what I would be walking into when I had to care for someone in their home. Helps me anticipate what kind of learning they might be able to do. 
    And grad school starts in 6 weeks too.  Only 2 years left… I will be so glad to be done.  I am looking forward to classes at Walsh.  And I am hopeful to then get a job teaching at the college level.  Not sure if I can handle high school students for the rest of my career, but since I’m not in charge of anything…. I will wait to see what the Lord has in mind.  He has gotten me this far, I am trusting He will take me the rest of the way.  blessings dear ones!!

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • 4th of July

    3 H’s are here in Ohio… Hot, Humid, Hellish ~ the fans are blowing, the AC is running in the living room window, and sleeping is a hard thing to do.  The girls are both home and we have not alot planned but hopeful for fireworks.  The rain has missed us today and we are in an extreme drought situation.  We are in need of 4-6″ of rain to catch up.  I have been soaking the garden everynight and have it mulched with straw and grass clippings.  Things are looking pretty good so long as I water.  I will post pics later.